Just for Today

Inspired by Reiki Principles. 

When one gets treated differently – when one gets tired of being anything but as who they are within.. 

 

Just for today
I wanna smile honestly.
No more fake smiles
no more lying words.
Just an honest smile,
just for today.

Just for today
I wanna be me.
No more borrowed masks
no more suffocating.
Just the plain ol’ me,
just for today.

Just for today
I wanna see clearly.
No more ignoring the hollowness of my heart
no more ignoring the deteriorating of my health.
Just wanna see the end that’s approaching clearly,
just for today.

Just for today
try to read my heart.
No more misplaced hatred
no more distracting disguises.
Just see my true feelings,
just for today.

Just for today
forgive me.
No more silly arguments
no more doubting looks.
Just see my bared soul,
just for today.

Just for today
I wanna be free.
No more shackles binding me
no more expectations burdening me.
Just me being a free man,
just for today.

Just for today
see me, hear me, notice me.
No more pretense
no more hiding.
Just see me, hear me, notice me,
just for today.

Just for today
treat me as I am.
A woman, a person, a being.
A heart filled with longing and feelings.
treat me as if I exist,
Just for today..

3 thoughts on “Just for Today

Leave a Reply

