Would You Send Me an Angel

Inspired by Scorpions’ “Would You Send Me an Angel” song ~ a poem touching on a cause that is near to my heart – the strays that are left behind on the streets. 

 

Lost in this dark place,
hoping for a miracle,
struggling to be safe..
As I sat with my legs close to my chest,
it burned –
the air what I forced into my chest burnt,
Its pain searing throughout my chest..

Here I am, I screamed
looking up to sky;
would you send me an angel,
I asked..

I scoured daily for food,
scampering like rats running wild.
A belly filled with garbage filled my body..
The streets had hardened me,
I’m a warrior inside a body of a skeleton.
I’m hidden from the eyes of the world as no one notices me.

I am one of the thousands
that call the sidewalks our home.
but no one sees us as normal beings..

Once again, here I am, I shouted
looking up to the sky.
Could you send me to an angel –
this time, again, to God I asked,.

Now as my fur begins to drop
and my throat becomes dry,
I sit in a corner and weep
as no angel had come to shed my misery..

They say cats have nine lives,
but I didn’t even get to enjoy living one.
I hope, unlike me, the rest of my species are able to live,
live and be able to be free..

Leave a Reply

