#MyWritersPoetryPrompt – July 13th – Wishing Upon a Star

The second poetry prompt for July 2016 is one word - WISH Pic credit : https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/49/0f/23/490f23561f736e898a47948a2f9b1688.jpg
The second poetry prompt for July 2016 is one word – WISH
Pic credit : https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/49/0f/23/490f23561f736e898a47948a2f9b1688.jpg

I once saw a fallen angel
that I had mistaken
for a shooting star.
I made a wish upon it,
hoping it’ll grant me
what have eluded me
thus far.

Yet when I realized
it’s a fallen angel,
I was beyond hope,
thinking that nurturing it
was beyond something
I could cope.

And so I wished once again
with all my might,
for it to be returned to its sender
and disappear out of sight.
Yet it didn’t disappear,
it remained there.
Beside me all the time,
an unwanted reminder.

And with no ways of avoiding
what to me brought so much of gloom,
I began taking care of it,
rescuing it from its doom.

And without realizing it,
I had fallen for this angel.
And how could I have not
when she looked at me with a kind of marvel?

But just as I began to grow
comfortable with how things were,
fate decided to stab me in the back
with a blunt dagger.

She was taken away from me
silently without a single sound,
as if she was waiting for this,
completely happy to be homeward bound.

And so I look out of the window
quite frequently up to the sky,
looking for her once again,
maybe a glimpse of her passing by.

All I could do now is wish with all my might
that this fallen angel will once again appear
within my sight.

Leave a Reply

