‪#‎MYWritersPoetryPrompt‬ – June 15th – Darkness Coveting the Light

For the third poetry prompt for June 2016, we have 2 words - LIGHT & DARK..
For the third poetry prompt for June 2016, we have 2 words – LIGHT & DARK..

Pic credit: _picolo @ Instagram

 

I’ve never been afraid of the dark –
I’ve always embraced it as my own.
I loved the darkness –
the freedom it gave me
for I could be anything I want within it –
I could be the monster that I felt I was..

And then you came –
a bursting, blinding light –
clouding my vision,
filling my head with thoughts
unlike anything I’ve had before..

Love…
a monster like me shouldn’t covet it, no?
But you made me want it –
as long it’s with you –
as long as it’s for you..
You made me love you
and I can’t seem to stop now..

I have fallen –
deeply
for the ray of sunshine
that you have brought
into my life..

I am nothing without you –
just another dot on this map of the world –
an empty drip of ink in this darkness
that can’t be seen..
You’re like a drug running through my blood;
intoxicating and delicious –
and without, I’m delirious..


You’ve possessed me, my love –
you’ve taken control over my whole being..
You’re my addiction
and I’m your helpless junkie
and I love this feeling –
I love being under your spell,
being consumed by you..

Yet you cut me off…

It’s true;
a monster like me
shouldn’t have covet love..

A monster like me
shouldn’t have fallen for
the sun like you..

Leave a Reply

