#MyWritersPoetryPrompt – My Scurrying Life – May 4th 2016

Pic Credit : Khor Hui Min @ https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153900969634930&set=gm.1201392416552089&type=3&theater
Pic Credit : Khor Hui Min @ https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153900969634930&set=gm.1201392416552089&type=3&theater

The first poetry prompt for May 2016 is a photo of street art from Penang.

*******************************************************************

Scurrying around in a dark alley,
finding for my next meal, some meat maybe.
Watching out for those murderous feline
minding my own, trying to toe the line.

There’s no honour among my kind,
they’ll eat me if they got the chance, anytime.
I just want something to get me by
what’s wrong with that, with wanting to stay alive?

I run up across the walls, in and out
sneaking in the dark, hoping to not be caught.
I dangle on wires with the help of my tail,
hoping to find some alms, to live to tell my tale.

My darkened skin glistens under the moonlight
as I reach out, trying to grasp my catch.
I grabbed hold of it, euphoria shooting through my veins
tonight is the night, I wouldn’t starve once again.

And out of no where, a shadow stares at me,
taking my sight in, remembering what he can see so clearly.
I scurry back, running back up the line
as the stranger looks on, committing me to his mind.

He draws my shadow across this wall,
painting me ink black, mesmerizing all.
And what a fine sight it was, me at my finest
my balancing act, committed on a permanent canvas.

 

**********************************************************

written in less than 30 mins.

Leave a Reply

